Colleen FitzSimons, PMP, LEED AP BD+C/ID+C, GPR

Executive Director

Colleen is a sustainability professional who has used her technical expertise and project management experience to help project teams understand how to meet the requirements of local and state green building codes, green building certification programs and organizational sustainability goals. While managing the GreenPoint Rated green home certification program she provided educational opportunities and resources while helping Raters understand the nuances of the rating system. She brings her enthusiasm for environmentalism to every project, especially her work leading the San Diego Green Building Council.


Robert Carr, MA, LEED AP O+M, LFA, GPRO Instructor

Education & Project Manager

Robert Carr is a green building professional who specializes in working with regional municipal and non-profit organizations to make our region’s built environment more sustainable. Robert has used his experience to participate in variety of local green building and sustainability based projects, including the LEED certification 10 Balboa Park buildings and the San Diego Food Bank. He has also participated in the City of San Diego’s SD ZN3 project discussed during this webinar. Robert’s credentials include a Masters in Sustainability Leadership, LEED AP for Existing Buildings Operations and Maintenance, and a ILFI Living Future Accreditation. Robert is an active volunteer in the San Diego community.  He is a Board member for Tree San Diego, Co-Chair for the San Diego Building Electrification Coalition Messaging Working Group, and member of the SD350.


Alessandra Konzen, GPRO O&M

Development & Philanthropy Manager

Alessandra is a development professional who specializes in departmental restructuring and building, growth projects, and operations optimization for impact-based businesses. Her passion for human interaction with the environment is why she worked to earn a degree in sustainability and is the reason behind her commitment to working for community-based organizations.

If interested in supporting SDGBC through sponsorship or donations please reach out to Alessandra at [email protected]


Noelle Headshot

Noelle Collins, GPRO

Communications Coordinator

Noelle is an award-winning communications professional with experience promoting nonprofit, small business, government, and educational organizations. She focuses on the data behind storytelling and the reasons why messages resonate with audiences. With an undergraduate degree in Geography, Noelle is interested in people and our connection to place and has communicated on behalf of our natural resources, including land, water, and forests.



2023 Board of Directors

President: Elizabeth Carmichael, AIA, Principal Architect, ECOhouse Architecture

Elizabeth Carmichael is the visionary founder of ECOhouse, dedicated to pioneering ecologically responsible architecture and development. Her commitment to minimizing environmental impact while maximizing benefits for occupants, communities, and developers defines ECOhouse's ethos. Her influence spans esteemed conferences like AIA National and Living Future, showcasing her expertise. As the founding Principal Architect, she steered ECOhouse Architecture to excellence in sustainable design, specializing in mixed-use spaces, infill multi-family projects, affordable housing, micro-units, and upscale custom residences. Elizabeth orchestrates ambitious designs accompanied by technically adept construction documentation. Her mastery extends to navigating complex regulatory landscapes such as Development and Discretionary Permits, and California Coastal Commission. Through ECOhouse, Elizabeth envisions ECOlogical Habitats Of Urban Sustainable Experiences(TM), weaving a greener tomorrow.

Vice President: Tina Angeles, AIA, Architect, Perkins&Will

A senior architect at Perkins&Will, Tina Angeles, has over 17 years’ experience on a wide variety of public and private project types. After gaining her Bachelor’s Degree in Architecture from the University of the Philippines in 2004, she immigrated to the United States and initially worked on a mix of urban infill residential and hospitality projects as well as large projects for the community college district. She has since worked on a variety of projects such as mixed-use residential, civic, tenant improvement and mixed-use commercial projects with a focus on sustainability and high-performance design.

Treasurer: Steven Shinn, FAIA, LEED Fellow, WELL AP, Studio Director, Senior Associate, Gensler

Secretary: Angela Hansen, DBIA, Project Manager, DPR Construction

Tom AbramPrincipal, Design Analytics, Introba

Tom Abram is a Principal in Introba’s Design Analytics practice, developing analytics-driven decarbonization strategies for building portfolios. Tom co-authored the Department of Energy’s recently released Framework for GHG Emissions Reduction Planning: Building Portfolios. Tom has experience managing university energy and sustainability programs, most recently at San Diego State University where he has also taught environmental engineering courses. Tom holds a BS in Electrical Engineering from the University of Illinois and an MS in Sustainable Design and Construction from Stanford University. Tom is a licensed mechanical engineer, LEED AP, GPRO, and Certified Energy Manager. Tom's home, which has been featured on SDGBC's Green Homes tour, is all electric, zero net energy, and winner of the City of San Diego's WaterSmart landscape contest.

Ravi Bajaj, WELL AP, LEED AP O+M, BD+C, ID+C, Principal, ESG & Sustainability, Citadel EHS

Daniela Deutsch, AIA, Associate Professor, Head of Architecture Programs, NewSchool of Architecture and Design

Elektra Fike-Data, Director, Tree San Diego

Elektra Fike-Data is the Director of Tree San Diego, a 501c3 nonprofit dedicated to increasing the density and sustainability of San Diego's urban forest. Overseeing an expert field team, she leads the organization in implementing projects that bring impactful results and sustainable solutions to the built environment. Elektra is an EcoDistricts Accredited Professional and holds a Master's in Sustainable Tourism from Arizona State University.

Elayne Fowler, GPRO, CEO, Business Growth & Operational Innovation Consultant, Saltwater-Strategies

Elayne Fowler is CEO of Saltwater-Strategies, a business growth consulting firm providing sustainability strategy with metrics, pathways into green high-performance building systems, and environmentally conscious product & service innovation.

Charles Loftland, Executive Director, Uplift Institute


 Whitney Pearce, AIA, Architect, Senior Associate, Miller Hull Partnership

Whitney Pearce, an architect and Senior Associate at the Miller Hull Partnership, has dedicated her career to delivering innovative projects that transform the urban fabric. For her, design excellence is achieved by weaving performance and sustainability seamlessly into the project’s concept and story, creating memorable spaces that stand the test of time and inspire awe. Hoping to push the industry towards a carbon neutral future where people live in harmony with the earth’s resources, Whitney strives to change the narrative around how and why we build. Her work reflects a dedication to finding innovative, sustainable building solutions while continuously delivering value to the owner, occupants, and community.


Chantal Sanchez, REALTOR, GREEN, Realtor, Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices


Bryon Stafford, President, Leland Construction 

Charlie Trujillo, LEED Green Associate, GPRO, TRUE Advisor, EcoDistricts AP, Code Compliance Associate Engineer/AnalystNORESCO

Leadership Committees

Residential Committee

Elayne Fowler - Board liaison to Residential Committee - [email protected]

Women in Green Committee

Steffi Reyes-Thomas - Co-chair

Jennifer Montgomery - Co-chair

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.