What is Green Business Certification?

Customers increasingly want to patronize businesses that are doing their part for the environment. Green Businesses implement practices that save valuable resources and fight climate change, leading to cost savings in energy, water, and reduced waste. Using less or non-toxic products benefits staff members and customers.

Green businesses assess how efficient their operations are, including water and energy use, transportation to their facilities, prevention or elimination of toxic chemicals, use of sustainable cleaning products, recycling and waste reduction, and purchasing products from local businesses and suppliers.

Learn more and sign up to become a California Green Business here.

Benefits of Green Business Certification

  •  Be recognized as a Certified Green Business
  •  Green Your Business and Save Money
  •  Stand out from your competitors
  •  Conserve resources to protect the environment and create a healthy workplace

Green Business Practices

Whether you're looking for a quick tip or a complete green makeover, getting familiar with green business practices can help you and your business thrive.

Read more about our recommended green business practices here.

Who is the San Diego Regional Green Business Network?

The SDRGBN is comprised of staff and volunteer members from different backgrounds and business sectors with a desire to share sustainable innovation with the San Diego business community. Its mission is to promote sustainable business practices to reduce costs and increase operational efficiency.

San Diego Green Building Council is now home to the San Diego Regional Green Business Network (SDRGBN), and is defining the next chapter of this network. SDGBC is the local delivery partner for the California Green Business Network (CAGBN) green business certification program. We provide the support and direction for local businesses to become certified and then complete the audit of the business' certification application. 

Program Partners

We are working with local jurisdictions, chambers of commerce and business improvement districts to ensure our local green businesses get the recognition and support they deserve once completing their certification.

We are partnering with the City of La Mesa and the City of Encinitas to share the San Diego Regional Green Business Network with businesses. 


Learn more about becoming a Program Partner here.


Take your green business to the next level with these resources and programs.

Webinar Recordings

Browse free webinar recordings on topics like LED retrofits and how Occupant Comfort Levels can save you money.

Local Case Studies

These examples are small to medium sized businesses who have implemented many of the practices and resources listed above. Click on a business below to learn more about them:

For more information please contact us at [email protected].

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.